When Dad’s Are Moms

 

My Maternal Grandfather with my Mom’s Half-Sisters

Both of my original grandmothers lost their own mothers at a young age.  My maternal grandmother lost her mother at age 11 and my paternal grandmother lost her mother at 3 months of age.

Therefore, their fathers were faced with children to raise without the children’s own mother present in their lives.  I believe my maternal grandmother became the “little mama” to her four younger siblings.  Her father never remarried.  My paternal grandmother had an older sister living.  Eventually, their dad remarried.

Regardless of the cultural expectations of their time in history, these fathers were faced with a daunting task.  There are many like them even today.

My paternal great-grandfather holding my paternal grandmother with her sister seated nearby.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.