Possum Trot

I’m more than average familiar with Possums (the animal is common where I live in Missouri). A mom’s friend of mine once named her first born Possum – I was stunned. She passed away and both of her kids (the other one she named Lynx) changed their names according to their dad who I once met and stayed in contact with for awhile.

imdb says of this film – Sound of Hope: The Story of Possum Trot is the true story of Donna and Reverend Martin and their church in East Texas. 22 families adopted 77 children from the local foster system, igniting a movement for vulnerable children everywhere.

One reviewer described it this way – “not your typical feel good adoption story. This movie is raw, real, and gives you an honest glimpse into the harsh reality of the traumas that children in foster care have experienced and what it takes for families to love them to healing and wholeness. The power of love, community, and hope was a clear message throughout !”

However, in my all things adoption group (which got me to look at this upcoming theatrical release) wrote – “It looks like there yet another movie pushing the savior agenda within foster care and claiming that foster children are unwanted. I volunteer for an annual summer camp that provides teens in local foster care with 3 days of fun activities and the organization sent me an invite to go see this movie with volunteers as a group. The trailer gave me enough information to know it’s not something I can support. I’m assuming the goal of the movie is to tug on people’s hearts and make them want to “save” children by fostering/adopting.”

Here is that trailer –

One adoptee said – I want to crowd fund Jordan Peel to make a horror film of the exact same to opposite plot.

One former foster now adoptive parent noted – LINK>Angel Studios is also heavily involved in the Tim Ballard/OUR drama. I wouldn’t support anything they make anyway. blogger’s note – so I went looking, as I suspected they are known for making “Christian” movies. I also looked up LINK>Tim Ballard and he was associated with the Operation Underground Railroad. Unfortunately, I do believe that we once watched LINK>Sound of Freedom with Jim Caviezel on dvd. He portrays Ballard.

One adoptee added –  “I would be curious though to know what gets classified as neglect. I feel like that’s a catch all phase that isn’t applied equally. Obviously, no kid should be abused. How does this actually support kids ? I feel like this will just piss people off without providing real concrete action to change lives. Adding, I just wanna see a movie/read a book from an adoptee that centers them.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.